« BMW Automobile International Awareness Promotion | Main | Booked Your Holiday Yet? »

April 18, 2007

2007 Web Awards

So here's somthing that I might enter a blog or two for, the 2007 WebAwards.

There's some 90 or more categories and you get your blog evaluated by professionals in both blogging in general and also by those from the specific vertical niche you're in.

My puzzle is really which blog I should enter? This, about scams and frauds? That would put me up against 419 er Eater and the like. One of the celebrity blogs I run? Bu there the competition is huge. My personal one? I don't think they're going to have a category of "insane right wing nutjob political rants" so perhaps not that then, eh?

Óne useful thing, even if you don't win, is that you get an evaluation of the blog from those experts. So worth entering even if you don't think you will win.

Disclosure Policy.


The full press release is as follows:

The Web Marketing Association is now accepting entries into its 11th annual international WebAward Competition. The WebAwards is the standards-defining competition that sets industry benchmarks and recognized the best web sites in 96 industries. The deadline for entry is May 31, 2007 and the WebAward Web site is located at www.webaward.org.

“Even the most amazing web sites remain invisible without the proper recognition,” said William Rice, President of the Web Marketing Association. “The WebAward competition not only recognizes the best web sites on the Internet today, but our participants get valuable feedback from our experts judges to help make their web site better in the future”.

The WebAwards competition judges website entries on seven criteria: design, innovation, content, use of technology, interactivity, copywriting and ease of use. Participants receive not only their score for each criteria, but the average for their industry and the overall WebAwards to provide them benchmarks for their own web development efforts.

Participants in the 2007 WebAwards will receive:

• An independent evaluation of their Website
• Valuable feedback to help benchmark your efforts and it relationship to its industry.
• A free copy of the 2008 Internet Standards Assessment Report when published

If your site wins a WebAward, you will also get:

• A beautiful image plaque or certificate of achievement to display proudly
• Higher visibility for your company
• A great marketing opportunity to promote your site to the media
• Links to your site from the highly ranked WebAward site to help SEO
• Best of Industry winners will also receive a free press release distributed by PRWeb.

Judges are leading Internet professionals that are selected from hundreds of nominations every year. They volunteer their time and talent to help improve the standard of excellence of Web development. Most judges have participated in the WebAwards for several years.

Judging for the 2006 WebAwards will take place in June through August, with winners announced in September. Judges will consist of a select group of Internet professionals who have direct experience designing and managing Web sites, including members of the media, interactive creative directors, site designers, content providers and webmasters, with an in-depth understanding of the current state-of-the-art in Web site development and technology.

The WMA’s WebAward competition is the only major award program to provide in-depth, quantitative analysis of results that help entrants develop standards of excellence for future innovation. The aggregated results of each WebAward competition are published in the annual Internet Standards Assessment Report which will be provided to each participant.

To enter, go to www.webaward.org and create a free nominator account. The deadline is May 31,2007 so don't wait, enter today!

April 18, 2007 in paid blogging | Permalink


TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference 2007 Web Awards:


I just wasted 20 Minutes of my time going through their process only to learn at the end that there is an entry fee of $390!
What a scam.

Posted by: Kameir | May 29, 2008 6:13:21 PM