« Sci Edge | Main | Printer Supplies »

March 28, 2007

Cannabis Ain't Kosher

In what might be the least surprising ruling in religious history, it has been decided that cannabis isn't kosher and should therefore not be consumed during Passover:

Marijuana is not kosher for Passover, a pro-cannabis advocacy group says, advising Jews who observe the week-long holiday's special dietary laws to take a break from smoking the weed.
   

The Green Leaf Party announced Wednesday that products of the cannabis plant have been grouped by rabbis within a family of foods such as peas, beans and lentils that is off-limits to Jews of European descent during Passover.

   

The Green Leaf Party, which has made several unsuccessful attempts to win election to parliament on a platform urging marijuana's legalisation, said it was issuing its advisory as a service to Jews who don't want to break ritual law.

   

But it said the rabbinical ban for the holiday beginning at sunset Monday, during which many Jews eat matzos, or unleavened bread, could be a blessing in disguise.

March 28, 2007 in Food and Drink | Permalink

TrackBack

TrackBack URL for this entry:
https://www.typepad.com/services/trackback/6a00d8341c2d3e53ef00d83542844c53ef

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference Cannabis Ain't Kosher:

Comments