« NHS Copayments | Main | England and the Rugby World Cup »

May 15, 2007

Guinness isn't Vegetarian

Shock and horror as the Vegetarian Society releases a list of products which are not compatible with a vegetarian diet. Guinness is on the list which is really rather puzzling.

Rather, not that Guinness is one the list, but that almost all beers are not on the list. Especially real ales, for almost all of them use isinglass finings to clear the beer. That's powdered fish bladders for the uninformed.

Two lists that are suitable. Essentially, a few decent beers that are specifically brewed without finings and a whole host of pastuerised crap that doesn't need to.

May 15, 2007 in Food and Drink | Permalink

TrackBack

TrackBack URL for this entry:
http://www.typepad.com/services/trackback/6a00d8341c2d3e53ef00d8354fe3c569e2

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference Guinness isn't Vegetarian:

Comments

So you've spotted a gap in the market have you Tim? Is it one nobody else has spotted or one that nobody wants to fill? I suspect the latter, so keep quiet or New Labour or the EU will brew veggy beers using our tax cash.

Posted by: pete | May 15, 2007 3:20:50 PM

I'm puzzled because Guinness in the UK is pasteurised. It's only in Ireland where it's not pasteurised.

Posted by: Tim Almond | May 15, 2007 7:53:34 PM

If it tucks down the chances of the stuff running out it's a good thing.

A few friends and I were in a restaurant on St. Patrick's Day. We ordered a round of Guiness (from a can) plus some girly drinks for the ladies. Next round the waitress comes back to the table to apologise that the manager had forgotten it was St Patrick's Day and they'd run out. The question was asked "Does she have a car?" To the manager's credit, she jumped in her car and bought a couple of cases at the nearest offie (bottlo) and normal service was resumed after the briefest of intermissions.

Posted by: DocBud | May 16, 2007 2:08:55 AM