« The Rule of Law | Main | Jhann Hari and Conscription »

February 01, 2007

Idiot Spam of the Day

Now we all know about SEO services, correct? The fact that there are companies out there who will offer to improve your websites position on the search engines and thus get you lots more traffic?

Heck, I do work for some of them. However, there are some companies who have a little less nous than others, as in this spam email I got today from:

Best Regards
Patricia Zhang
Assistant Promotions Manager
 
SearchedMedia.com
61 Praed Street
Paddington 
London
W2 1NS
Tel: 0845 0537325
Email For This Promotion: john@searchedmedia.com

Website For This Promotion: www.searchedmedia.com

UK Government Approved Supplier of Interactive Websites

How, exactly, does one become a UK government approved supplier of interactive websites? Further:

Hello, my name is Patricia.  Apologies for contacting you unannounced but I have just visited your website at timworstall.typepad.com and have provided you with a complimentary service related to this website (see below).

 
Just so you know, you are not on any list so this is the only email you will receive from me.
 
For your complimentary service I conducted a link check for your website.  I searched on Google for link:http://timworstall.typepad.com and found that you have 2,220 websites linking to you that are in Google's database (try it, this way you can see lists of websites that link to any other website).
 
As you are probably aware, by getting more links pointing at your website you can achieve much higher rankings on Google, Yahoo and MSN (because most search engines consider each link as a "vote" for your website) and thereby increase your profits by attracting many more customers.

Now, as I say, I know what the services on offer are but wouldn't you be a little wary of a company offering you services when they cannot even do the most basic research? What customers? What profits? This is a blog for God's sake!

Can we mark down Searchmedia.com as perhaps not the finest of the SEO companies?

February 1, 2007 in Scams and Frauds | Permalink

TrackBack

TrackBack URL for this entry:
http://www.typepad.com/t/trackback/23056/7726847

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference Idiot Spam of the Day:

Comments

Tim - If I were you I might be tempted to remove the link to their website from your post, as otherwise they are gaining something from their evil spamming endeavours.

Posted by: Dave | Feb 1, 2007 12:23:38 PM

I got that one, too, accompanied by a woeful underestimate of the number of sites that link to me. (I was under the impression that you do make at least some effort to take revenue from your blog, though, Tim, to be fair to them...)

Posted by: James Hamilton | Feb 2, 2007 11:05:20 AM

Just got the same email Tim... You would think that trying to win another SEO's business might be a bit pointless. What idiots!!!

Posted by: Chris Angus | Mar 6, 2007 4:28:24 PM

Just returned the compliment - they have ONE site linking back to theirs. Doesn't exactly inspire confidence!!

Posted by: Gayle | Mar 14, 2007 12:16:22 PM

They also lack a description tag on their site and have zero PageRank.

Don't take out your reference to them, without it I would not have been able to suss them out so quickly. Plus you are gaining some useful traffic from your ranking for their name.

Giving warnings of scams - you're providing a public service, keep up the good work.

Posted by: Ad | Mar 21, 2007 5:37:54 PM

Post a comment